About Fo Guang Shan

Fo Guang Shan (literally meaning the Buddha’s Light Mountain) is one of the largest Buddhist monasteries in the world operating over 300 branch temples and several educational institutions.

In Australia and New Zealand, there are 12 Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Temples, 10 of which are in Australia, and 3 in the state of Victoria. Fo Guang Shan also operates Nan Tien Institute, Australia’s first government-accredited tertiary institution grounded in Buddhist values and wisdom.


Its goal and aims are to promote Humanistic Buddhism around the world by the four founding principles:

  • To propagate Buddhist teachings through cultural activities.
  • To nurture talents through education.
  • To benefit societies through charitable programs.
  • To purify human hearts and minds through Buddhist practices.


Venerable Master Hsing Yun is the founder of the Fo Guang Shan. He has been recognized by international leaders for his bold and innovative methods of spreading Buddhist teachings.

Give others faith. Give other joy. Give others hope. Give others convenience.

Ven. Master Hsing Yun

About Fo Guang Shan Melbourne

Fo Guang Shan Melbourne was first established in Yarraville in 1992. Venerable Man Ko, who is based in Nan Tien Temple in Wollongong, New South Wales, is the Head of Fo Guang Shan Melbourne and the Head Abbess of Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Temples across Australia and New Zealand. There are TWO Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Temples across Melbourne including Fo Guang Shan Melbourne and Eryou Temple. Fo Guang Shan Melbourne also provides religious, educational, community, charitable, and cultural services to Victorians, Buddhists, and non-Buddhists alike. Fo Guang Shan Melbourne regularly runs meditation classes, weekly Dharma Services and Buddhist Dharma functions throughout the year.